Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

USF2000: Colorado native Will Owen drove to his first-ever victory in the USF2000 National Championship in the first race of the Grand Prix of Indianapolis. (photo: USF2000)

USF2000: Colorado native Will Owen drove to his first-ever victory in the USF2000 National Championship in the opening race of the Grand Prix of Indianapolis. (photo: USF2000)

It was a weekend of firsts in the Mazda Road to Indy during the inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis. Five of the six races saw first-time series winners on the 2.439-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.


Will Owen, driving for Pabst Racing, started things off with a win in USF2000. After switching to slicks — the only driver to do so on a drying track — Owen crossed the stripe nearly 16 seconds ahead of runner-up Jake Eidson. Aaron Telitz rounded out the podium. In the second race of the weekend, it was Adrian Starrantino taking the victory ahead of Florian Latorre (+.3394) with Victor Franzoni in third.

Pro Mazda

After starting the season a perfect four-for-four Spencer Pigot finally saw his win-streak snapped. Canadian Scott Hargrove, who won last season’s USF2000 championship, swept the competition claiming both wins on the Indianapolis road course. Shelby Blackstock finished second in the first race with Neil Alberico in third. On Saturday, Alberico finished runner-up to his Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing teammate. Juncos Racing driver Jose Gutierrez completed the podium.

Indy Lights

Matthew Brabham, last year’s Pro Mazda champ, earned his first-career Indy Lights victory on a drying track in the 40-minute sprint race after starting from pole position. Luiz Razia finished just over two seconds back with Jack Harvey in third. Zack Meyer was fourth with Alex Baron rounding out the top five. Championship leaders Zach Veach and Gabby Chaves finished ninth and 11th, respectively. In the second race it was Razia earning his first-career Lights win and first of the season for powerhouse Schmidt Peterson Motorsports. Harvey and Baron completed the podium.

Pro Mazda and USF2000 return to action on the 0.686-mile Lucas Oil Raceway oval for the Night Before the 500 on May 24, while Indy Lights return for the Freedom 100 on the IMS oval May 23, Carb Day.

For up-to-date news and views on karting and junior formula racing follow @JOWT on Twitter or follow on Facebook.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too