Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom


USF2000: RC Enerson (No. 7) looks to hold off a challenge from Florian Latorre (No. 10) on entry into Turn 1 at Barber Motorsports Park as the field settles in behind. (photo: USF2000)

RC Enerson and Spencer Pigot swept the USF2000 and Pro Mazda competition, respectively, while Zach Veach and Gabby Chaves split victories in Indy Lights during the Mazda Road to Indy stop at Barber Motorsports Park.

For Team E’s Enerson, two wins, while leading every lap and setting a fastest race lap , secured a 42-point lead in the USF2000 championship hunt, 121-79, over Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing’s Jake Eidson, who finished third and eighth.

In Pro Mazda, Pigot upped his unbeaten streak to four, despite strong pressure from Canadian Scott Hargrove. Kyle Kaiser was third in Race 1 while Shelby Blackstock secured the final podium spot in Race 2.

In Indy Lights, it was Veach earning his second victory of the season in the 30-lap sprint race with Luiz Razia finishing runner-up and Jack Harvey rounding out the podium. On Sunday, the Lights drivers saw their race end four laps early due to rain. Chaves cut into Veach’s points lead with the win (he now trails by nine points), with his Belardi Auto Racing teammate Alex Baron crossing the stripe in second. Veach was third, followed by Razia and Harvey.

Make the jump for full results:

Barber Motorports Park Results:
Mazda Road to Indy
April 26-27, 2014


Pro Mazda

Indy Lights

For up-to-date news and views on karting and junior formula racing follow @JOWT on Twitter or follow on Facebook.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too