Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Road to Indy at Mid-Ohio

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted August 6, 2013 at 6:29 pm Indy Lights, Pro Mazda Championship, U.S. F2000 National Championship

Garett Grist drives to his first-career USF2000 win at Mid-Ohio. (photo: USF2000.com)

Garett Grist drives to his first-career USF2000 win at Mid-Ohio. (photo: USF2000.com)

The full Mazda Road to Indy development ladder was at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course last weekend. USF2000, Pro Mazda, and Indy Lights all raced the undulating 2.258-mile, 13-turn road course located in Lexington, Ohio.


Check out the full USF2000 results: Round Eight, Round Nine, Round Ten.

Neil Alberico won the first two races of the weekend with Garett Grist earning his first-career USF2000 win on Sunday. In Round Eight, RC Enerson finished runner-up with Jason Wolfe rounding out the podium after starting 12th. Florian Latorre was fourth after starting 14th with Michael Epps finishing fifth after starting 17th.

Round Nine saw championship leader Scott Hargrove finish runner-up to teammate Alberico with Peter Portante completing the podium. In Round 10, Grist topped the charts as the only driver to crack the 1:24 barrier (1:23.566) with Hargrove and Enerson completing the top-three. Henrik Furuseth and Felipe Donato rounded out the top-five.

Pro Mazda

Matthew Brabham has now won nine of 12 races in the Pro Mazda Championship — a new record. Brabham won both races but Round 12 was led by Diego Ferreira who unfortunately slid off track following an oil spill. Brabham advanced to the lead (under yellow) but was able to retain the lead position because he was able to keep his car on-track. Brabham, while happy with the victory, was quick to credit Ferreira’s impressive drive.

“I feel bad for Diego,” Brabham said. “I don’t like to win like that. It is never sweet. In a way, it is a victory by default. Diego was flawless all race and driving really well out front.”

In Round 11, Shelby Blackstock finished runner-up to Brabham with Ferreira completing the podium. Spencer Pigot was fourth with Juan Piedrahita fifth. Round 12 finished under caution with Nicolas Costa completing the podium behind Brabham and Ferreira.

Click here for full results: Round 11, Round 12

Indy Lights

After starting from pole position, Gabby Chaves survived two cautions and drove to his first-career Indy Lights victory, edging Peter Dempsey by 0.3508 seconds while producing an average speed of 103.469 mph. Jack Hawskworth completed the podium with Carlos Munoz and Zach Veach finishing fourth and fifth, respectively.

Firestone Indy Lights Point Standings: Munoz 349, Chaves 334, Karam 333, Hawksworth 309, Dempsey 306, Veach 257, Garcia 250,  Goncalvez 244, Di Leo 72, Victor Carbone 26.

For up-to-date news and views on karting and junior formula racing follow @JOWT on Twitter or follow on Facebook.



Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too