Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Team Canada Scholarship names four finalists

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted July 9, 2013 at 7:00 pm Team Canada Scholarship

Formula Ford Team Canada logos

Four drivers were recently named finalists for one of two seats provided by the Team Canada Scholarship.

The two drivers who will be selected to represent Canada at this year’s Formula Ford Festival will come from two different levels of junior open-wheel  racing.  The first group was chosen from the USF2000 series and the second group of finalists will be chosen from the F1600 level, specifically,  the Toyo Tires F1600 Championship and the Formula Tour 1600 Series.

The first four finalists from the USF2000 series are: Garett Grist, Scott Hargrove, Jesse Lazare, and Stefan Rzadzinski. All four drivers have made the podium at one point during the opening five rounds of the ultra-competitive USF2000 National Championship.

“We are very proud to announce the first four finalists and we know that any one of them has the ability to win this fall at Brands Hatch at the Formula Ford Festival,” Team Canada founder Brian Graham said. “This is certainly the deepest pool of talent at this level we have seen in many years. We will be watching them all closely at the upcoming Toronto event and will sit down with each of them over the course of the weekend to get to know them a little better.”

The F1600 finalists will be announced in the coming weeks. The USF2000 drivers will compete this weekend, July 12-14, in Toronto as part of the Grand Prix of Toronto. A 30-car entry list was announced this afternoon.

To learn more about the Team Canada Scholarship visit the official website at www.teamcanadaracing.org and visit the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/TeamCanadaScholarship.

For up-to-date news and views on karting and junior formula racing follow @JOWT on Twitter or follow on Facebook.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too