Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Peter Portante wins Skip Barber Championship Shootout

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted December 17, 2012 at 12:28 pm Skip Barber, U.S. F2000 National Championship

After three days of competition and evaluation at Road Atlanta, Peter Portante was announced the winner of the 2012 Skip Barber Championship Shootout earning a USF2000 National Championship ride in 2013 (courtesy of MAZDASPEED), $20,000 cash from California Scents, and an Indy Lights test with Bryan Herta Autosport.

The competition was anything but easy, however, as the top-four drivers were separated by a mere 3.3 points following five race events, a fitness test, a media evaluation, and a business proposal review.

Final Skip Barber Championship Shootout Awards are listed below.

2012 Skip Barber Race Series Champion Shootout Awards:

  • Peter Portante – 1st place: $200,000 MAZDASPEED USF2000 Scholarship presented by Mazda for the 2013 season; $20,000 cash from California Scents; IndyLights Test with Bryan Herta Autosport
  • Jake Eidson – 2nd place: $25,000 Race Series Scholarship
  • Danilo Estrela – 3rd place: $20,000 Race Series Scholarship
  • Tristan DeGrand – 4th place: $15,000 Race Series Scholarship
  • Aaron Telitz – 5th place: $10,000 Race Series Scholarship

For up-to-date news and views on karting and junior formula racing follow @JOWT on Twitter or follow on Facebook.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too