Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Hawksworth wins from pole in Edmonton

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted July 22, 2012 at 11:58 am Star Mazda

Jack Hawksworth (82) put down blistering-fast laps and survived two late-race restarts to earn his fifth Star Mazda win of 2012 during Race 2 at the Edmonton City Centre Airport circuit.
(photo: StarMazda)

Following yesterday’s seventh-place finish in Race 1 of the Star Mazda Championship in Edmonton, points leader Jack Hawksworth tweeted:

“Not the result we deserved or had hoped for today but fastest lap means we start from pole for tomorrow’s race here in Edmonton.”

During Sunday’s Race 2 at the Grand Prix of Edmonton, Hawksworth continually put down blistering fast laps and survived two late-race restarts to win his fifth race of 2012 increasing his grip on the overall drivers’ championship.

Sage Karam finished runner-up 0.688 seconds back on the 2.224-mile, 13-turn, temporary street circuit known as the Edmonton City Centre Airport circuit. Gabby Chaves completed the top-three, earning his fifth podium of the season.

Petri Suvanto impressed onlookers with a drive from 19th to 4th, which included several passes on the race’s final restarts. Gustavo Menezes rounded out the top-five with some evasive driving during the last two laps, having run most of the race near the top-10.

Canadian Stefan Rzadzinski was sixth, followed by Ashley Freiberg, Andres Mendez, Carlos Linares, and Camilo Schmidt (yesterday’s winner in Race 1) completing the top 10.

The first caution occurred on Lap 16 when Zach Meyer lost a tire in turn 10 before coming to a rest in T11. The field returned to green flag racing on Lap 20, but a spin from Zach Veach — who was running fourth — brought out a second full-course yellow. The final laps weren’t kind to those named Zach.

On Lap 24, racing resumed only to see Martin Scuncio (running third) and Bruno Palli (running sixth) both drop to the bottom of the timing and scoring chart. Meanwhile, big gains were being made by Suvanto, Menezes, Rzadzinski, and Freiberg as the field charged toward the checkered flag.

Make the jump for full results.

Star Mazda 
Complete Results
Race 2 – Edmonton City Centre Airport

1 82 Jack Hawksworth 1:29.412
2 88 Sage Karam 1:29.741
3 19 Gabby Chaves 1:30.152
4 81 Petri Suvanto 1:29.926
5 83 Gustavo Menezes 1:30.211
6 93 Stefan Rzadzinski 1:29.991
7 91 Ashley Freiberg 1:31.084
8 53 Andres Mendez 1:31.475
9 20 Carlos Linares 1:31.609
10 21 Camilo Schmidt 1:30.962
11 33 Ryan Tveter 1:31.666
12 57 Diego Ferreira 1:30.096
13 15 Bruno Palli 1:30.694
14 2 Connor De Phillippi 1:30.512
15 42 Blair Robertshaw 1:35.392
16 22 Martin Scuncio 1:29.874
17 9 Juan Piedrahita 1:59.293
18 77 Zach Veach 1:29.962
19 66 Zack Meyer 1:30.059

For up-to-date news and views on karting and junior formula racing follow @JOWT on Twitter or follow on Facebook.

Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too