Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Milwaukee 100 race winner Tristan Vautier is pursued closely by Sebastian Saavedra during the closing laps of Friday’s race. (Photo: Dan R. Boyd – INDYCAR/LAT Photo USA)

Two weeks ago Oliver Webb secured the 50th pole position for Indy Lights powerhouse Sam Schmidt Motorsports. Yesterday, team driver Tristan Vautier gave the team its 50th win at the Milwaukee Mile.

“It was a great race; we were in control,” Vautier said. “The end was a little harder with the lapped traffic to manage, but awesome day, awesome job from the team.

“I didn’t get the 50th pole, but real happy to get the 50th win. What an awesome team.”

Sebastian Saavedra finished second, just 0.337 seconds behind Vautier who led from start to finish. Saavedra — who advanced to second after overtaking Victor Carbone on the opening lap — attempted to pass Vautier on both restarts (Lap 18 and 49), but was unable despite narrowing the gap as the two leaders carved through lap cars in the closing laps on the one-mile oval.

Esteban Guerrieri, last years pole and race winner at Milwaukee, advanced from sixth on the grid to finish third. David Ostella claimed fourth on the final circuit, passing rookie Carlos Munoz who rounded out the top-five.

Make the jump for complete results from the Milwaukee 100…

Milwaukee 100
Indy Lights
Complete Results 2012

  1. Tristan Vautier
  2. Sebastian Saavedra
  3. Esteban Guerrieri
  4. David Ostella
  5. Carlos Munoz
  6. Victor Carbone
  7. Alon Day
  8. Gustavo Yacaman
  9. Jorge Goncalvez
  10. Bryan Clauson
  11. Juan Pablo Garcia
  12. Oliver Webb
  13. Mike Larrison (contact)

For up-to-date news and views on karting and junior formula racing follow @JOWT on Twitter or follow on Facebook.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too