Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Drivers were introduced to the Skip Barber formula car on an infield autocross course prior to pedaling their way around Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca during the 2011 Skip Barber Karting Scholarship Shootout.
(Photo: Kelly Brouillet)

Tristan DeGrand topped 22 other karters to win the 2011 Skip Barber Karting Scholarship Shootout and Danilo Estrela bested the Skip Barber Race Champions at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

After four days of seminars and observation — both in and out of the car — the drivers gathered in the Laguna Seca infield for the announcement.

The judges’ decision didn’t come quickly with several participants sparking their own Twitter trend by hashtagging #NerveRacking as they awaited the big announcement.

While only two were chosen for the top-prize in their respective competition, several other drivers qualified for a scholarship. Per the Skip Barber organization, 17 of the 30 participants will leave Montery with a scholarship.

DeGrand, 15, and Estrela, 18, are both guaranteed a funded season in a Skip Barber Race Series for 2012. The specifics on the remaining prizes will be released in an official statement by Skip Barber Racing tomorrow.

For up-to-date news and views on junior formula racing follow @JOWT on Twitter or follow on Facebook.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too