Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Team Canada Scholarship Nominees

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted August 2, 2011 at 7:40 pm Team Canada Scholarship

Gerry Merz, Dave Matkovich and Brian Graham have all been working extremely hard to put together a scholarship program for upcoming Canadian drivers. Their program — which is similar to the Team USA Scholarship — took another step in the right direction today as 11 finalists were named.

The list will be whittled down to just three drivers in late August, with plans to announce the scholarship winner set for mid-September. The chosen driver will represent Canada in the 2011 Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch.

This program is huge for up-and-coming Canadian drivers and wouldn’t have been possible without a ton of work, financial support from key partners and, of course, a strong passion for junior formula racing. Helping jump start the program are Grote Industries and Race Driver’s Guild of Canada. Several other supporters have helped make this possible,read the official release here.

2011 Team Canada Scholarship Nominees

  • Michael Adams – 16
  • Nathan Blok – 17
  • Mackenzie Clare – 16
  • Xavier Coupal – 20
  • Matthew Di Leo – 17
  • Garett Grist – 16
  • JP Jodion – 16
  • Dalton Kellett – 17
  • Charles Leclerc – 20
  • Aaron McCauley – 18
  • Ayrton Triolo – 17

All the drivers listed are currently competing in either the Ontario Formula Ford Championship or the Formula Tour 1600 Series, which should give them a good experience base when heading to Europe.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too