Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Pigot and Suvanto win at St. Petersburg

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted March 30, 2011 at 9:52 pm Star Mazda, U.S. F2000 National Championship

Spencer Pigot and Petri Suvanto added their names to the list of race winners in the 2011 USF2000 National Championship.

Pigot started the weekend off perfectly by snatching the pole position on a last-lap flyer, edging Colombian Juan Piedrahita by a mere 0.002 seconds.

He ended day one perfectly as well, leading from flag-to-flag despite feeling constant pressure from Finland’s Petri Suvanto. The win gave Pigot the overall lead in the championship, but Suvanto toured the course quicker than anyone securing the pole for Round 4.

“It was really tough race with Petri [Suvanto] not too far behind me,” Pigot said in a Series’ release. “I had to get a good gap on cold tires and put my head down for the first few laps. I was able to do that and keep consistent, then push when I needed to. I have to say a big thanks to everyone at MAZDASPEED and Cooper Tires and all the Andretti Autosport guys. It’s great to get my first win.”

In similar fashion to Pigot’s performance, Suvanto took advantage of his front-row starting spot and never looked back claiming his first win of the season.

After becoming the fourth different race winner in four events, it was announced that Suvanto had claimed the overall point lead, holding a two point advantage over Pigot (106-104).

“Getting a win is all I could hope for, ” said Suvanto in a USF2000 release. “Hopefully we can carry the momentum for the remainder of the season and try to stay on top in the hunt for the championship. This track is amazing and actually I am planning on maybe moving to St. Pete so this was like my home race especially since [Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing]  is based here. It is a special place for me obviously.”

Full results posted after the jump…


Grand Prix of St. Petersburg
USF2000 National Championship
Round 3 Results

  1. Spencer Pigot – No. 8 Andretti Autosport
  2. Petri Suvanto – No. 3 Cape Motorsports w/WTR
  3. Zach Veach – No. 7 Andretti Autosport
  4. Matthew DiLeo – No. 33 Brian Stewart Racing
  5. Cole Morgan – No. 9 Belardi Auto Racing
  6. Vincent Beltoise – No. 32 Cape Motorsports w/WTR
  7. Wayne Boyd – No. 4 Belardi Auto Racing
  8. Shannon McIntosh – No. 2 Cape Motorsports w/WTR
  9. Luca Forgeois – No. 97 Stevenson Motorsports (National Class)
  10. JR Smart – No. 6 Pabst Racing Services (National Class)
  11. Ardie Greenamyer – No. 29 Accelerace Motorsports (National Class)
  12. Juan Piedrahita – No. 19 JDC MotorSports DNF
  13. Tonis Kasemets – No. 5 Pabst Racing Services DNF
  14. Luke Ellery – No. 85 JDC MotorSports DNF
  15. Timmy Megenbier – No. 17 Sick Tea Racing DNF

Grand Prix of St. Petersburg
USF2000 National Championship
Round 4 Results

  1. Petri Suvanto
  2. Spencer Pigot
  3. Wayne Boyd
  4. Zach Veach
  5. Vincent Beltoise
  6. Timmy Megenbier
  7. Matthew DiLeo
  8. Luke Ellery
  9. Juan Piedrahita
  10. Luca Forgeois
  11. Ardie Greenamyer
  12. JR Smart
  13. Shannon McIntosh (DNF)
  14. Tonis Kasemets (DNF)
  15. Cole Morgan (DNF)

Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too