Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Pigot and Andries Win at Road Atlanta

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted October 1, 2010 at 2:03 pm Skip Barber

2010 Skip Barber National Champion Spencer Pigot
(Photo: Kelly Brouillet – Skip Barber)

Just hours after being awarded the Team USA Scholarship by founder Jeremy Shaw, Spencer Pigot went on to win Round 13 of the 2010 Skip Barber National Championship, claiming the overall title for the year.  Dennis Trebing led for part of the race, but ultimately had to settle for second after Pigot made a last lap pass to claim the win.  Felix Serralles — co-winner of the 2010 Team USA Scholarship — finished third.

Scott Anderson was the Round 13 hard charger after improving from ninth to fourth.

Pigot looked like he was going to claim back-to-back victories in Friday’s Round 14, but contact changed that.  Ultimately, Nick Andries walked away victorious in the final race of the 2010 season after starting eighth.  It was his first win of the season and came just after he put together a solid drive in the Star Mazda race.  Serralles, who was also pulling double-duty this weekend by competing in the USF2000 National Championship, finished second.  Team USA nominee Ashley Freiberg rounded out the top-three.

Pigot claimed the overall title with three wins, five pole positions, and twelve podiums in 14 races.  As part of his prize for winning the 2010 championship, he will receive a fully-funded ride in the 2011 USF2000 National Championship, courtesy of the MazdaSPEED Development Ladder.

The MazdaSPEED Ladder Awards ceremony will be streamed live at 7:30 p.m. Eastern on Friday, Oct. 1, here.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too