Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

De Phillippi Wins Star Mazda Finale

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted October 1, 2010 at 12:16 pm Star Mazda

Connor De Phillippi
(Photo: Ryan – www.junioropenwheeltalent.com)

A day after earning his first pole position in Star Mazda competition, seventeen-year-old Connor De Phillippi claimed his inaugural win in the Series.  The California native only had two laps in yesterday’s qualifying session due to a red flag and heavy rain.  It was enough.

De Phillippi put his No. 11 JDC MotorSports entry on pole with a 1:20.101, nipping 2010 Star Mazda Champion Conor Daly by 0.488 seconds.

Starting from pole in today’s race at Road Atlanta, De Phillippi never looked back leading from lights-to-flag for his first career Star Mazda victory.    Anders Krohn finished second and set the second quickest lap of the event (1:20.234).  Update: Daly finished second overall trailing by 4.554 seconds after 34 laps, but was bumped to third place post race.

Series’ rookie Martin Scuncio — who normally competes in the USF2000 National Championship — finished fourth with Tristan Vautier rounding out the top-five.

Florida resident Nick Andries put on a show in Friday’s race by driving from 11th on the grid to finish seventh for his fourth top-10 of the year.

Daly, who dominated the field this season, completed the season with a record-tying seven wins, record breaking nine pole positions, and 12 podium finishes en route to the overall championship. He claimed the title in Round 12 at Mosport International Raceway.

For a detailed recap of the race, check out my Twitter updates from earlier today. Make the jump to see full results from today’s race at Road Atlanta.

Star Mazda Championship
Round 13: Road Atlanta
Complete Results

  1. Connor De Phillippi
  2. Anders Krohn
  3. Conor Daly
  4. Martin Scuncio
  5. Tristan Vautier
  6. Caio Lara
  7. Nick Andries
  8. Joao Horto
  9. Jorge Goncalvez
  10. Chris Miller
  11. Tatiana Calderon
  12. Rusty Mitchell
  13. Juan Piedrahita
  14. Carlos Linares
  15. JW Roberts
  16. Dom Bastien
  17. Larry Pegram
  18. Walt Bowlin

Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too