Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Driver Rankings

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted September 22, 2010 at 9:54 pm open wheel racing news

The September edition of the EFCN Driver Rankings was released late last week.  Conor Daly – 2010 Star Mazda Champion – retains the top spot.  Late season rankings are a little more fun to look at as they begin to reflect this year’s crop of talent.

J.K. Vernay, currently ranked second, was one of the biggest movers inside the top-20, jumping 38 spots since August 15.  Fellow Indy Lights competitor Dan Clarke made the largest jump inside the top-20 improving from 62nd to 16th.  Stefan Wilson moved up 33 spots to 17th overall.

Australia’s Daniel Erickson (F2000 Championship) jumped from 60th to 15th, improving 45 spots over the month.

Indy Lights drivers Adrian Campos Jr. (up 35 spots) and Philip Major (up 32 spots) both landed inside the top-25 for the first time.

Other drivers who jumped twenty spots or more inside the top-100 include:  Scott Rettich (Formula E, 89th-to-44th); Zach Veach (USF2000, 69th-to-24th); Miles Maroney (Pacific F2000, 70th-to-48th); Raphael Abbate (USF2000, 71st-to-51st); Paul Schneider (Formula E, 94th-to-57th); Brian Novak (Formula E, 95th-to-60th); Matt Schneider (Formula E, 116th-to-72nd); Jim Libecco (Formula E, 146th-to-80th); Bill Jordan (F2000 Championship, 110th-to-87th); Juan Piedrahita (Star Mazda, 112th-to-88th); Lee Rackley (Formula E, 119th-to-92nd); Brandon Wagner (Indy Lights, 132nd-to-100th).

I suppose I could have just listed the entire SCCA Pro FE field.  A ton of their drivers made huge gains in EFCN’s ranking over the past month.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too