Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

2010 Team USA Scholarship Nominees

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted August 24, 2010 at 10:50 am Team USA Scholarship

Jeremy Shaw, founder of the Team USA Scholarship, announced the names of eight nominees for the prestigious scholarship last weekend at Road America.

Following interviews and evaluation at the Bondurant School of High Performance Driving, two drivers will be selected to take part in the ultra-competitive Formula Ford Festival and Walter Hayes Trophy in England.

Over the next few days, I will write a brief post on each individual driver in order to introduce you to each.  The average age of the nominees in 2010 is 17.25 years of age.  Update: Team USA introductions are linked to each individual’s name above.  Enjoy.

You can read the official release here.

Related Reading: Team USA Scholarship



  1. Petron on August 24, 2010 11:33 am

    This is unexplainable that Mazda is teamed up with this and that Skip Barber is not being the vehicle to conduct the shootout.How can this be?

  2. Ryan on August 24, 2010 1:41 pm

    The Bondurant School utilizes Formula Mazda race cars. Plus, the bulk of the nominees have less experience in a Formula Mazda than a Skip Barber car – which may have been part of their reasoning.

    Neil Alberico and Ashley Freiberg will probably have the largest advantage heading into the shoot-out based on previous experience in Formula Mazda cars.

  3. OWfan on August 24, 2010 4:12 pm

    Why aren’t any USF2000 drivers on the list?

  4. Ryan on August 24, 2010 4:45 pm

    I can’t speak for all the drivers, of course, but I believe one of the “favorites” for a 2010 nomination wasn’t chosen because of the BRSCC rule listed below:

    All drivers participating in testing must be at least 16 years of age. Any drivers under 18 years must have their indemnity form signed by a parent or guardian.

  5. Timmy Thomas on September 1, 2010 2:14 pm

    I agree with Petron about the car to conduct the evaluation. I think Skip Barber or F2000 would be a better choice. Also I am curious to know how the shootout will be conducted. Is it a race? Is it similar to Skip Barbers Scholarship shootout? Also I think all the candidates are good but we have better more experienced driver in the USA. Some of the nominees have virtually zero open wheel experience. This make zero sense because formula ford is open wheel right? I sorry to say but I doubt this years candidates will bring the success that USA has had in the past Newgarden,Daly, Dephillipi and Smrz because these 4 guys had much more experience in a car more similar to a formula ford than this years nominees

  6. John Caputo on September 1, 2010 8:57 pm

    Considering De Phillippi was only in his 2nd season of cars I would not consider that as alot of experience, Daly won it in his first season of cars so i do not agree with you on this. Think its a good group that will have just as much succes if they have the luck. I actually believe this is the most competative group I have ever seen for Team USA yet as nominees. Alot of luck go’s into these races because of the competition and all the heat races, with the possibility of getting taken out in a heat and not making it to the main bc of it.

  7. Timmy Thomas on September 1, 2010 10:10 pm


    You must know these kids too well. It was not Daly’s first year not to mention some ontario formula ford. You highly mistaken if you believe Daly had not had extensive formula car testing in F2000 and a few races in F2000 and ontario formula ford. Im sure Dephilippi had drove some others cars besides Skip Barber.

  8. Ryan on September 1, 2010 10:20 pm


    The driver evaluations will start in the Bondurant C6 Corvettes, with judges riding along. The nominees will jump into the Formula Mazda cars shortly thereafter for open lapping under close observation by the panel. After on-track activities are complete, the drivers will be interviewed by the judges.

    The official decision will be announced during the Petit Le Mans weekend at Road Atlanta.

    The panel consists of ten judges: Jeremy Shaw, Buddy Rice, Bob Bondurant, Alan Rudolph, Arie Luyendyk, Chris Neuer, John Ward, Chris McMurry, Darren Law and Michael Brown

Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too