Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Weekend Recap

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted July 19, 2010 at 12:32 pm Karting

U.S. Rotax Max Grand Nationals- New Castle Motorsports Park

Rotax competitors from all over the United States battled it out last weekend at New Castle Motorsports Park, hoping to represent USA in La Conca, Italy during the Rotax Grand Finals this fall.  Eleven drivers earned the opportunity and will represent the USA in the Rotax Max Challenge Grand Finals on November 15-21, 2010.

2010 Team USA Members in Bold Print

  • Senior Division: 1st- Stepanova Nekeel; 2nd- Sam Beasley; 3rd- Daniel Formal.
  • DD2: 1st- Cody Hodgson; 2nd- Derek Wang; 3rd- Nathan Mauel
  • DD2 Masters: 1st- Todd Ulmen; 2nd- Henry Malukas
  • Masters: 1st- Eric Jones; 2nd- Sean Scott; 3rd- John Bonanno
  • Junior: 1st- Andrew Palmer; 2nd- Alessandra Madrigal; 3rd- Ethan Ringel
  • Mini Max: 1st- Jordan Perry; 2nd- Cole Glasson; 3rd- Dalton Sargeant
  • Micro Max: 1st- Anthony Gangi; 2nd- Juan David Buitrago; 3rd- Justin Sirgany

Skip Barber National Championship- New Jersey Motorsports Park

It was a wild weekend for Skip Barber National competitors who completed Rounds Nine and Ten of the 2010 Championship at New Jersey Motorsports Park.  Two drivers earned their first-career National victories after post-race penalties were assessed.

Round NineFelix Serralles earned his first win of 2010 by 0.004 seconds over championship leader Spencer Pigot.  Ashley Freiberg rounded out the top-three, earning the hard charger award for improving three positions in 15-laps.  Nick Andries set the fastest lap of the race with a 1:31.701.

Round Ten:  Freiberg earned her first-career Skip Barber National win on Sunday, while simultaneously earning her second-consecutive hard charger award from improving the most positions, and becoming the first female in history to win a Skip Barber National event.  She started the race sixth and ultimately crossed the line second behind Isaac Lyons.  However, after the race, Lyons was given a 25-second penalty for blocking, which relegated him to ninth overall.  Spencer Pigot finished second, earning his ninth podium in ten races.  Dennis Trebing was leading the final lap before contact sent him to seventh place.  Serralles grabbed the final podium spot.

Indy Lights:  Toronto

Firestone Indy Lights drivers spent last weekend North of the Border racing on the narrow streets of Toronto.  Two rookies claimed the top-two spots.

J.K. Vernay earned his fourth win of the 2010 season extending his championship lead to 68-points over Canadian James Hinchcliffe.  “Hinch” was running second for the majority of the race before making a slight error in Turn 3 — missing his braking point — and then being bumped off track in Turn 5.  Dan Clarke put together a career-best finish by crossing the stripe second 1.7469 seconds behind Vernay, who led the entire race.  Gustavo Yacaman also logged a career-best finish by finishing third.  His previous best was fourth at Milwaukee in May, 2009.

Stefan Wilson, who finished fifth, set the fastest lap of the race (65.8173 seconds) and earned hard charger honors for improving the most positions during the event.  Wilson started tenth and finished fifth after 50-laps.


One Comment

  1. OWfan on July 19, 2010 3:20 pm

    Again, IMO, the politics of Skip Barber hard at work again. Handing the championship over. I just knew the foreign driver wouldn’t win the championship.

Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too