Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Erickson Sweeps at Watkins Glen

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted July 5, 2010 at 10:28 am F2000 Championship

Daniel Erickson Sweeps the Competition at ‘The Glen’
(photo: Janice Eakin/F2000 Championship)

Daniel Erickson hit his marks all weekend and won two F2000 Championship races — his first victories on American soil — at Watkins Glen International Raceway.  The 22-year-old Australian driver should be competing for the overall championship this season but a lack of funds sent him home after an impressive showing at Virginia International Raceway – the series’ opening two rounds for 2010.  Following VIR, he missed the next four-rounds before making a triumphant return this past weekend at Watkins Glen.  Erickson is still on a race-by-race schedule due to limited funding, but he plans to run the Lime Rock Park event in three weeks.

Race 1 – Watkins Glen (F2000 Championship)

American Chris Livengood earned his first career pole in race 1 at ‘The Glen’ and led half the race before Erickson was able to slip past and claim the win.  Masters’ competitor Tim Minor rounded out the top-three with Cole Morgan and Victor Carbone finishing fourth and fifth, respectively.

The hard charger of Round 7 was Charles Finelli – who improved 15 positions in 14-laps.  Finelli started the race in 30th and finished 15th.  Honorable mention should also go to Steven McAleer who drove from ninth to third before being forced backwards through the field due to a broken rear sway bar.

Indy Lights’ competitor James Winslow spent his Saturday in the No. 42 F2000 Championship car in search of additional seat-time prior to Sunday’s Corning 100.  Winslow finished eighth in his F2000 Championship debut without any previous seat-time in the car or on the track.  On Sunday, he finished fifth in the Indy Lights race – a career best.

Race 2 – Watkins Glen (F2000 Championship)

In Round 8, Erickson drove from flag-to-flag to earn his second win in as many days.  He faced tough opposition in the waning laps, as championship leader Victor Carbone hounded him in an effort to get past.  In the end, Carbone would be denied a win, though, as Erickson was forced to drive a defensive line.  Cole Morgan – who is currently second in the drivers’ championship – finished third, 7.480 seconds back.  Livengood rounded out a solid weekend by bringing his car home fourth.  Masters’ driver Keith McCrone was fifth.

Mark Defer earned “hard charger” honors by improving 11 positions in 14-laps.  He started the race 25th and crossed the finish line in 14th.

The F2000 Championship will return to action July 23-24 for Rounds 9 & 10 of the 2010 season at Lime Rock Park.

F2000 Championship
Complete Results – Watkins Glen


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too