Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Conor Daly Wins Fourth Consecutive Race

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted June 21, 2010 at 1:39 pm Star Mazda

Conor Daly Wins Fourth Consecutive Race
(photo: Ryan – Junior Open Wheel Talent)

Conor Daly earned his fourth consecutive win in the 2010 Star Mazda Championship on Saturday evening in front of a decent number of spectators at Iowa Speedway. The only other drivers to have won four-straight Star Mazda races are: Raphael Matos, Michael McDowell and Joey Hand.

Team Apex teammates Jorge Goncalvez and Joao Victor Horto finished second and third, respectively.  Connor De Phillippi finished fourth with Anders Krohn rounding out the top-five.

“The start went really well,” said Daly after the race. “The track conditions changed quite a bit between qualifying and the race. During the race itself, Turn one and two was very different from turns three and four. I had to adjust the front bar for almost every corner.  There were several scary moments where the car got really loose, but I kept it under me and focused on building a gap and saving my tires.  For the first 30-40 laps I was really foot-to-the-floor.  After that my spotter said I had a good gap and suggested I back it down a little bit. It’s almost harder to go slow than it is to go fast so I had to pick it back up in order to get more comfortable with the car. Towards the end it was 110-percent all the way to the finish.”

After moving into second place on lap-35 Goncalvez worked to reel-in Daly throughout the race but fell just short. It was his second top-two finish this season.  Previously, he was runner-up in the 2010 season opener at Sebring International Raceway.

“We struggled with front grip throughout the race,” said Goncalvez. “On the lap-51 restart, I lost a lot of time trying to get past the lap cars. My car was really good in traffic but I was unable to close the gap on Daly.”

Horto, 19, of Brazil, earned his third podium finish of the season in Saturday’s race by finishing third. He qualified second for the race but had a gearbox issue at the start.

“The start wasn’t real good, I dropped back to fourth,” said Horto. “The team [Apex] was real good all weekend, helping me adapt to ovals.”

Several drivers were forced to pit – which is uncommon in Star Mazda competition – during the race due to excessive right-front tire wear. Andersen Racing’s Mikael Grenier qualified third and was running second until lap-35 when things began to unravel. By lap 40, Grenier had dropped to seventh and was forced to pit for a new right-front tire. After returning to the track in ninth position, he spun on lap-48 impacting the turn-2 wall.  The incident brought out the only full-course caution of the race.  Grenier entered the event ranked second in the drivers’ championship but dropped to fourth with Saturday’s DNF.

Series’ rookie Nick Andries — who is also competing in the Skip Barber National Championship — put in a solid drive to finish sixth after starting 12th. The Florida resident improved six spots in the 100-lap event. It was his first career oval race. He was the final driver to finish on the lead lap.

The Star Mazda competitors will return to action next weekend, June 26-27, at New Jersey Motorsports Park. Make the jump for photos from the weekend and full results from Saturday’s Pizza Ranch 100.

Star Mazda
Iowa Speedway 2010

Conor Daly Wins Round 5 at Iowa
(photo: Ryan – Junior Open Wheel Talent)

Team Apex Driver Joao Horto
(photo: Ryan – Junior Open Wheel Talent)

Jorge Goncalvez Finishes Second in the 2010 Pizza Ranch 100 at Iowa Speedway
(photo: Ryan – Junior Open Wheel Talent)
Connor De Phillippi Leaving Pit Lane in Iowa
(photo: Ryan – Junior Open Wheel Talent)
Star Mazda Podium (Horto, Daly and Goncalvez)
(photo: Ryan – Junior Open Wheel Talent)

Star Mazda Championship
Round 5- Iowa Speedway
Complete Results

  1. Conor Daly
  2. Jorge Goncalvez
  3. Joao Horto
  4. Connor De Phillippi
  5. Anders Krohn
  6. Nick Andries
  7. Caio Lara
  8. Tristan Vautier
  9. J.W. Roberts
  10. Rusty Mitchell
  11. Carlos Linares
  12. Tatiana Calderon
  13. Chris Miller
  14. David Ostella
  15. Mikael Grenier


  1. SBRSfan on June 21, 2010 2:11 pm

    Another Skippy grad! Great job.

  2. pressdog on June 21, 2010 9:26 pm

    Thanks for all the tips and keeping me out of trouble at Newton, Ryan. Fabulous job covering the juniors. They’re fortunate you’re willing to put in all the great effort to give them some exposure. Keep up the good work.

  3. Ryan on June 22, 2010 4:52 pm

    I appreciate the kind words Pressdog! Hope to see you at a race again soon. Keep up the great work on your end.

Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too