Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

USF2000: Karam Extends Points Lead in Iowa

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted June 19, 2010 at 5:51 pm U.S. F2000 National Championship

USF2000 National Championship Podium
(photo: Ryan – Junior Open Wheel Talent)

Sage Karam lapped everyone but second-place finisher Raphael Abbate in today’s 50-lap USF2000 National Championship race at Iowa Speedway.  Karam, who started from pole, set the fastest lap of the race (23.881).

“The car was just hooked up,” said Karam after the race.  “The Andretti Autosport boys really put together a masterpiece.  It didn’t develop any understeer or oversteer, it was just like driving on rails.”

Raphael Abbate finished second – his best career finish in USF2000 competition – and set the second quickest lap of the race.  He and Karam were the only two drivers to break into the 23-second range.

Mikhail Goikhberg put in an impressive drive to finish third.  Early in the race Goikhberg got together with Martin Scuncio and the contact resulted in a spin.  The incident dropped him deep into the field.  From that point he managed to put down some solid laps in the low-24 second range.  He drove to a third place result.

“After the spin I checked my mirrors and noticed my tire wasn’t really complete,” said Goikhberg. “The tire had wires hanging from it and I thought my race was done. Luckily I was able to continue and the tire lasted through the event. I knew I was way behind so I didn’t worry about what position I was in until I had about 10-laps to go.”

Martin Scuncio ran a good race, finishing fourth. The result marked his third top-five finish in four races. Zach Veach rounded out the top-five after contact with Patrick McKenna in the early stages of the race. Veach was forced to pit in need of a new front wing, while McKenna was able to continue – temporarily.  The contact cut McKenna’s tire and led to a slow leak.  In the closing laps, McKenna slowed dramatically while running second and ultimately retired.  He still managed to finish sixth.

Complete Results after the jump and a few more photos after the jump.

USF2000 National Championship
Iowa Speedway
Round 4 Results

  1. Sage Karam
  2. Raphael Abbate
  3. Mikhail Goikhberg
  4. Martin Scuncio
  5. Zach Veach
  6. Patrick McKenna
  7. Ardie Greenamyer
  8. Javier Barrales
  9. J.R. Smart
  10. Terrick Mansur (Mechanical)
  11. Brian Belardi
Raphael Abbate
(photo: Ryan – Junior Open Wheel Talent)

One Comment

  1. SBRSfan on June 21, 2010 1:17 pm

    Great job to Sage and Skip Barber for grooming this guy!

Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too