Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Star Mazda Race Preview: Iowa Speedway

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted June 17, 2010 at 11:17 am Preview, Star Mazda

Intro- Star Mazda Race Preview: Iowa Speedway

The Star Mazda Championship heads to Iowa Speedway this weekend for Round 5 of the 2010 season. The drivers will have the opportunity to run in front of several key team owners as part of the ‘Road to Indy’ feeder system.  This will be the second and final time this year that all levels of the Road to Indy program will be running at one venue; the race series included in the ladder are USF2000, Star Mazda, Indy Lights, and IndyCar.

Race Location

The drivers will be competing at Iowa Speedway in Newton, Ia.  It is the final oval race of the season for the Star Mazda competitors.  The speedway, which is a tri-oval, is 0.875 miles in length and features 12-14 degree banking.  The race is scheduled to begin at 7:15pm Saturday, June 19.  Race length will be 100-laps or 45 minutes.  The event will be streamed live by IMS Productions, available on IndyCar.com, StarMazda.com and USF2000.com.  As noted below, I will be trackside this weekend so make sure to check back for live updates throughout the weekend. 

Entry List:

No. 9-Jorge Goncalvez (Team Apex)
No. 11-Connor De Phillippi (JDC Motorsports)
No. 16-David Ostella (AIM Autosport)
No. 17- Mikael Grenier (Andersen Racing)
No. 18-Joao Victor Horto (Team Apex)
No. 19-Caio Lara (JDC Motorsports)
No. 20-Carlos Linares (Linares Racing)
No. 22-Conor Daly (Juncos Racing)
No. 25- Tatiana Calderon (Juncos Racing)
No. 38-Tristan Vautier (Andersen Racing)
No. 47- Anders Krohn (Andersen Racing)
No. 66-Rusty Mitchell (Juncos Racing)
No. 81- Nick Andries (Andersen Racing)
No. 85- Chris Miller (JDC Motorsports)

Drivers to Watch

The list of drivers to watch this weekend is pretty long.  The outright favorite for the weekend has to be Conor Daly.  The 18-year-old Indiana resident has won the last three Star Mazda events and he finished second at Iowa Speedway last season.  His team, Juncos Racing, won the event in 2009 with Peter Dempsey behind-the-wheel. Daly has the chance to become one of only four drivers (in the modern Star Mazda Championship) to have won four-consecutive events.  His new teammate at Juncos, Rusty Mitchell, should be extremely quick as well. Mitchell has done well on ovals in the past (he finished 4th at Iowa last year) and with the ability to work with Juncos Racing and share data, he should be marked as a front runner.  All four of the Andersen Racing drivers should be pretty quick.  Mikael Grenier put the No. 17 car on pole at O’Reilly Raceway Park — his first-ever oval race — and finished second.  JDC Motorsport’s Connor De Phillippi will likely be fast at Iowa.  The 17-year-old California native has some previous oval experience driving Legends cars.  He qualified fourth at ORP – his first oval in Star Mazda competition.  Joao Horto, who will be driving for Team Apex, can’t be counted out.  The Brazilian driver has had a break-out year thus far into the 2010 season.  Horto, 19, qualified and finished third at ORP in his first career oval race.  The list of drivers to watch is long and lap-traffic can play a significant role in the outcome of the race at Iowa.

Current Point Standings (Top-10)– heading to Iowa Speedway.

  1. Conor Daly 171
  2. Mikael Grenier 142
  3. Anders Krohn 139
  4. Joao Horto 128
  5. Tristan Vautier 124
  6. Connor De Phillippi 124
  7. Caio Lara 120
  8. Rusty Mitchell 113
  9. Jorge Goncalvez 110
  10. David Ostella 100


Stay tuned for live event coverage right here at Junior Open Wheel Talent this weekend and/or follow along via Twitter.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too