Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Indy Lights Race Preview: Iowa Speedway

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted June 17, 2010 at 6:26 pm Indy Lights, Preview

Firestone Indy Lights Race Preview: Iowa Speedway

The Indy Lights’ competitors will be traveling to Iowa Speedway this weekend for Round 5 of the 2010 season. The drivers will have the opportunity to run in front of several key Indy Car team owners as part of the ‘Road to Indy’ feeder system.  This will be the second and final time this year that all levels of the Road to Indy program will be running at one venue; the race series included in this ladder system are the USF2000 National Championship, Star Mazda, and Indy Lights — with the final rung being IndyCar.

Race Location

The drivers will be competing at Iowa Speedway in Newton, Ia.  The speedway, which is a tri-oval, is 0.875 miles in length and features 12-14 degree banking.  The race is scheduled to begin at 8:30 pm (local time) Saturday, June 19.  Race length will be 115 laps.  The event will be streamed live by IMS Productions, available on IndyCar.com, StarMazda.com and USF2000.com.  As noted below, I will be trackside this weekend so make sure to check back for live updates throughout the weekend.  Following this weekend’s race, the drivers will run five-consecutive road and street course events prior to their next oval race – which is scheduled to take place August 28 at Chicagoland Speedway in Joliet, Illinois.

Entry List

No. 2- James Hinchcliffe (Team Moore Racing)
No. 4- Carmen Jorda (Andersen Racing)
No. 7- J.K. Vernay (Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
No. 10- Gustavo Yacaman (Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing)
No. 11- Pippa Mann (Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
No. 18- Rodrigo Barbosa (PDM Racing)
No. 22- Adrian Campos Jr. (Team Moore Racing)
No. 26- Charlie Kimball (AFS/Andretti Autosport)
No. 27- Martin Plowman (AFS/Andretti Autosport)
No. 28- Stefan Wilson (Bryan Herta Autosport)
No. 29- Sebastian Saavedra (Bryan Herta Autosport)
No. 32- Brandon Wagner (Davey Hamilton Racing)
No. 40- Dan Clarke (Walker Racing)
No. 49- Philip Major (Sam Schmidt Motorsports)

Pre-Race Driver Quotes:

Charlie Kimball: “I’m really excited to race in Iowa coming off of three consecutive second-place finishes. We’re looking to take it one step better and go for the race win. I’m confident the #26 Levemir® FlexPen® car will be quick from the moment we roll off the trailer. Hopefully we’ll be able to tune it to my liking and get a solid qualifying run in for a good starting position. From there, we’ll try to leverage that into a race win; if not a win, definitely another podium. We’re looking to close the gap for the championship.”

James Hinchcliffe: “I’ve been looking forward to this race all year long! Last year was a ton of fun. Racing an open wheel car on a high banked, short track was like being in a dog fight in an F16! Really close, really intense, but great racing. We got a podium in 2009 and we have good momentum right now, so we are really gunning for the win.  Last year we had problems with rain and with track weepers.  This weekend’s forecast doesn’t look great… The only good news if it rains is I’ve been practicing my T-shirt gun aim in case the Firehawk let’s me have another go!”

Martin Plowman: “I’m looking forward to the race at Iowa. Iowa is a challenging oval, where traffic usually plays a huge part in the race’s outcome. Being a night race will make it something to look forward to as the atmosphere is usually that little bit more special.”

J.K. Vernay: “We had a fantastic car at the Freedom 100 and, considering the record of Sam Schmidt Motorsports at Iowa Speedway, I would expect nothing less this weekend.  Although we were 6 laps down, we were able to pass everyone in the field at IMS and I felt extremely comfortable even though it was my first oval ever.  I am very much looking forward to the event this weekend at Iowa Speedway.”

Current Point Standings (Top-10)– heading into Iowa Speedway.

  1. J.K. Vernay- 157 points
  2. Charlie Kimball- 152 points
  3. James Hinchcliffe- 134 points
  4. Martin Plowman- 120 points
  5. Sebastian Saavedra- 107 points
  6. Stefan Wilson- 102 points
  7. Philip Major- 90 points
  8. Gustavo Yacaman- 87 points
  9. Dan Clarke- 75 points
  10. Pippa Mann- 74 points


Stay tuned for live event coverage right here at Junior Open Wheel Talent this weekend and/or follow along via Twitter.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too