Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Star Mazda: Tristan Vautier Wins Round 1

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted March 19, 2010 at 5:40 pm Star Mazda

Tristan Vautier

Tristan Vautier won the opening round of the 2010 Star Mazda championship earlier today at Sebring International Raceway.  The 20-year-old Frenchman drove from 3rd on the grid to win the 21-lap race.  I’ve been very impressed by Vautier, so today’s win didn’t come as a huge surprise.

Sophomore driver Jorge Goncalvez put in a solid drive to capture his first career podium.  He started the race in 7th position.

Conor Daly rounded out the top-three after starting fourth.  He led a good portion of the race before falling back about lap-11 due to handling issues.  By all reports, the track began to lose grip throughout the race.

Andersen Racing drivers Mikael Grenier and Anders Krohn claimed fourth and fifth respectively, rounding out the top-five.  Krohn, who qualified on pole, set the fastest lap of the race.

Hard Charger
The drive of the weekend came from Texan Rusty Mitchell who started the race in 11th.  Mitchell, 27, was forced into a drive-through penalty by race officials after jumping the start.  From the back of the pack (23rd position) he managed to drive through the field to finish right where he started the race (11th), just barely missing a top-ten finish.

Make the jump for full results.

Star Mazda Round 1- Sebring Full Results

  1. Tristan Vautier
  2. Jorge Goncalvez
  3. Conor Daly
  4. Mikael Grenier
  5. Anders Krohn
  6. Joao Horto
  7. Connor De Phillippi
  8. Michael Furfari
  9. Chris Miller
  10. Caio Lara
  11. Rusty Mitchell
  12. Gerry Kraut
  13. David Ostella
  14. Carlos Linares
  15. Dom Bastien
  16. Carlos Conde
  17. JW Roberts
  18. Hayden Duerson
  19. Juan Piedrahita
  20. Tatiana Calderon
  21. Court Vernon
  22. Ian Harm
  23. Richard Kent (DNS- broken driveshaft)

Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too