Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Connor De Phillippi Signs with JDC Motorsports

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted January 19, 2010 at 5:41 pm Signing, Star Mazda

Connor De Phillippi, the 2009 Skip Barber National Champion, has signed with JDC Motorsports for the 2010 Star Mazda Championship.

The announcement— which was expected by most after Connor completed a very successful test with the Minnesota-based JDC team back in November— was made official earlier today.   The ride with JDC Motorsports will be fully-funded by the MazdaSPEED Development Program… rewarding Connor for his championship-winning performance in the 2009 Skip Barber National Championship.

De Phillippi, 17, had an outstanding 2009 season which not only saw him win the Skip Barber title but also the prestigious Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone in England after being awarded (along with Brett Smrz) the 2009 Team USA Scholarship.  Connor is the youngest driver in history to win the Walter Hayes Trophy (at the time of the race he was 16 years, 10 months and 6 days old).

Watch for some very good results from Connor in 2010.  He is certainly a driver to watch.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too