Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

World Series by Renault Updates

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted October 30, 2009 at 11:35 am Signing, Test, World Series by Renault

World Series by Renault (photo-Renault-Sport)

World Series by Renault- Spa 2009 (Photo:Renault-Sport.com)

There has been quite a bit of WSR news this week.  Let’s start with the 3-day test at Motorland Aragon.

Testing News

The first session on Tuesday was dominated by three Formula Renault 2.0 drivers.  The top-three in the first session were, ironically, the top-three from the 2009 FR2.0 NEC championship.

The Tuesday afternoon session was topped by the 2009 Formula Renault 2.0 NEC champion Antonio Felix da Costa.

On Wednesday morning there was a different group at the top.  Jean E. Vergne, who finished second in the 2009 Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup, topped the time charts.  He was followed by Greg Mansell—who was also 2nd in the Tuesday afternoon test.

Jean E. Vergne and Greg Mansell returned to the top of the charts on Wednesday afternoon.

Filip Salaquarda found his way to the top in the final session.  After running 3rd and 4th in his previous sessions, Jon Lancaster broke into the top-two.  Keisuke Kunimoto had a solid run to find his 2nd top-three test performance.

If you want a guaranteed ride, just buy the team

ISR Racing, run by Igor Salaquarda, purchased RC Motorsports’ equipment and will run in the 2010 World Series by Renault.  As noted above, Filip Salaquarda topped the final test session on Thursday—driving for RC Motorsport.

RC Motorsport will likely continue in the F3 ranks and is reportedly joining forces with Autotecnica to run a Formula BMW-Europe team in 2010.

Family owned teams is becoming a common theme in WSR competition.  Fairuz Fauzy’s father, who owns the Mofaz group, took over Fortec Motorsports heading into the 2009 season.  Then, Walter Grubmuller’s father purchased P1 Motorsports.  It’s probably safe to say we have a partial roster in place for the above teams in 2010.

New Signings

As far as 2010 roster’s go, we now know that Red Bull drivers’ Daniel Ricciardo and Brendon Hartley will be driving for Tech 1 in 2010.  It sort of goes without saying… Tech 1 should be a top-team in 2010.  They won the 2007 World Series by Renault championship with Alvaro Parente behind the wheel.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too