Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Formula Ford Festival: Brands Hatch

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted October 13, 2009 at 6:13 pm Team USA Scholarship

Team USA Scholarship Winners

-- Team USA Scholarship Winners -- (L)Connor De Phillippi, (R)Brett Smrz

Team USA Scholarship drivers, Connor De Phillippi and Brett Smrz will be competing in the Formula Ford Festival this weekend, October 17th & 18th, at Brands Hatch in the UK.

The entry list and schedule (along with Heat #’s) was sent to drivers last night and can be found here. For some reason, the BRSCC is perpetually slow at posting the list on their homepage.

Last year’s Kent Class Champion and 2008 Team USA Scholarship recipient Josef Newgarden will be driving the #21 Robopong Mygale SJ09 in the Duratec class.

As for this year’s Team USA Scholarship recipients, they will be driving in the Kent Class for Cliff Dempsey Racing, the same team that Josef Newgarden drove for last year.  Cliff Dempsey is the father of current Star Mazda standout Peter Dempsey.

Brett Smrz will be driving the #21 CDR Ray GR08 in Heat 1.  Connor De Phillippi will be driving the #22 CDR Ray GR08 in Heat 2.

The weekend schedule can be found here.  Check back for updates.



  1. My Name Is IRL on October 13, 2009 10:35 pm

    I don’t know who half these drivers are, but thank you so much for taking the time to cover them. You’re doing a stellar job.

  2. Ryan on October 14, 2009 9:39 am

    Jeff, Thank you for the kind words. I appreciate the comment.

    You may not know a lot of these drivers today, but you will eventually ;)

    -Ryan (JOWT)

Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too