Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Firestone Indy Lights Award Winners…

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted October 12, 2009 at 2:27 pm Indy Lights

Indy Lights Victory Celebration

Indy Lights Victory Celebration

The Indy Lights end-of-the-year banquet was held over the weekend in Miami, following the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.  A partial list of the awards are listed below.  To see the full list, click here.

No big surprises here… J.R. Hildebrand pretty much dominated the award ceremony.  The only award that caught me off guard was the “Most Improved Driver“.  No offense to J.R. Hildebrand, as he improved tremendously between 2008 and 2009, but I can think of a handful of other drivers—- who didn’t receive an award— that are just as deserving.

Championship driver: J.R. Hildebrand
Force for Earth Hard Charger: Mario Romancini
Frequent Polesitter Award: J.R. Hildebrand
Rookie of the Year: Sebastian Saavedra
Frequent Podium Award: J.R. Hildebrand
Road & Street Course Challenge: J.R. Hildebrand
Most Improved Driver: J.R. Hildebrand

In the coming weeks, I plan to write up a post with some of my own ‘end-of-the-year awards‘ for the various junior formula categories.  Stay tuned.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too