Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

2009 McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted October 9, 2009 at 11:39 am open wheel racing news

Autosport released the “short list” for the 2009 McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.  The nominees are as follows…

  • James Calado
  • Adam Christodoulou
  • James Cole
  • Callum MacLeod
  • Chrissy Palmer
  • Dean Smith


I was planning on writing up a brief synopsis on each driver but it’s already been done by both Autosport and Brits on Pole.  Enjoy.

Who Is The Favorite?
Once again, narrowing this list down to one driver will be a tall task.  I feel the favorite for this year’s award is James Calado.   The 20-year-old would be a great choice for the award and has certainly been impressive.  That said, he wouldn’t be my first choice this year…. perhaps, next year.

So… who are my top-picks?
Callum MacLeod and Adam Christodoulou

Without going into a lot of detail….
First and foremost, both drivers have posted some very notable results over the past few seasons.  I’ve been thoroughly impressed by both. Secondly, both drivers have struggled for funding and winning an award like this will make a huge impact on their future in auto racing.


Standard Disclaimer:  All the nominees have been chosen for a reason.  My picks are just my opinion, it’s up to you how serious you want to take it.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too