Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

2009 Team USA Scholarship Winners

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted September 25, 2009 at 4:02 pm Team USA Scholarship

Early this month Jeremy Shaw nominated seven young American drivers as potential recipients of the 2009 Team USA Scholarship.  I wrote an introduction for each driver and why I felt they would be a good choice for the prestigious award.

You can view my profile piece on each of the nominees by clicking on their name below:

Team USA Scholarship Winners

Photo: Michael L. Levitt

The recipients of the 2009 scholarship were announced earlier today.  Connor De Phillippi, from San Clemente, Calif., and Brett Smrz, from Coeur d’Alene, Idaho, were chosen to receive this year’s Team USA Scholarship.  Both drivers will represent Team USA later this month in Europe by competing in the Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch and the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone.

Choosing two recipients is always a tall task.  As noted in my previews above, each of the nominees would have been a good choice for several different reasons.  That said, I feel confident with Jeremy’s selection and I’m glad it’s him and not me that has to make that kind of choice.

Visit the Team USA Scholarship homepage for more information.  Stay tuned for more updates, right here, on their progress this fall.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too