Junior Open Wheel Talent

News and Views on Drivers Chasing Open-Wheel Stardom

Preview: 2009 Robopong-200

by Ryan Stringfield
Posted September 24, 2009 at 11:46 am Karting, open wheel racing news

The annual Robopong 200, a 200-lap go kart endurance race, will take place this weekend (September 26 & 27) at New Castle Motorsports Park.  The event traditionally draws some of the biggest names in motorsports.  Take a look at this year’s entry list, to see what I mean.  Just to name a few, this year’s list contains names such as:  Ed Carpenter, Jay Howard, Spencer Pigot, Dan Wheldon, Cody Jolly, Martin Plowman, Gustavo Yacaman, Eric Morrow,  Billy Lewis,  Conor Daly, Michele and Mark Bumgarner, Bobby Wilson,  Evan Batt, Brandon Wagner, Cole Mathewson, James Davison, Jimmy Simpson, Mark Dismore Jr., CJ Linter …etc.

Make the jump to see my picks for this weekend’s event…..

It’s unfortunate that this year’s event had to be scheduled against the Petit Le Mans weekend at Road Atlanta.  I’m sure there were more than a few Skip Barber National, Star Mazda, and Atlantic Championship competitor’s planning to be in the field.

The average lap around NCMP in a TAG kart, assuming the track is dry, takes about 1:07 seconds.  Last year’s fastest race lap was set by team H Power:  Spencer Pigot and Cyndie Allemann on Lap-21— 1:05.803.

2008 Champions:
Team Lewis/CKS Racing– Billy Lewis, Jeremy Warren

My Podium Picks for 2009:

  1. Team DFR/Supertune USA- Bobby Wilson, Conor Daly
  2. ScreamingTalent/H Power/PBIR/Maranello- Spencer Pigot, Cody Jolly
  3. Comet Racing Engines/Arrow Karts #11- Billy Lewis, CJ Linter


This should be a really fun weekend.  Once again, if you are in the area, I strongly recommend you make the trip to New Castle Motorsports Park for the 2009 Robopong 200.

Feel free to join in and make your picks in the comment section.


Write a Comment

Junior Open Wheel Talent Blog

Promote Your Page Too